Day 17: It’s Christmas!

A merry merry Christmas to everyone!

I’m halfway the mapping process, I just finished mapping the first half of the grid. Now some relax, I just came back at the J. Cook and I’m spending a night here, it’s Christmas ave and I’m having a good dinner spending some time with the crew. I’m not afraid of the loveliness of space, but it’s good to take a break sometime. Many people say the Dedalus is small, asking why I spend so much time in such a small ship while I could go out with the Icarus. Sure an Anaconda is much more bigger and comfortable but don’t understimate a Cobra mkIII. It’s a two people ship, inner space is huge for a small size ship, it’s comfortable, specifically designed for trading and exploration activities, honestly I love spending the time on that ship, and it’s fast and manouvrable, I just love it.
The mapping process is going well, the mapping grid is just bigger then planned, so it’s going to take some more time then expected, but I have time, I’m plenty of time, I have the James Cook orbiting this system, ready to jump in if anything would ever go wrong, and the job here is amazing, there are a lot of new discoveries to be made, I’ve scanned 271 systems, most of them are new discoveries, I’ve found a new earth like planet and countless water worlds and metal rich planets. I just cashed in 110 milions, sure working as trader or miner gives much more credits, but I’m here out in the dark, giving new planets and stars my name, it’s priceless.

There is tritium here, a lot of tritium, I wasn’t able to find any overlapping tritium spots, but there are many single spots, it’s a good resource for explorers out of fuel, just in case. I’ve found platinum, painite, void opals, low temperature diamonds, these planets are full of resources of any kind.
I’m planning to finish the grid mapping in 10 days, maybe in a week, by year end if I work hard. Then I’ll move toward Dryman’s Point, looking for that passage, if it’s there. About that passage… I’m really afraid I’ll fail that mission objective, the star density is impressively low here, and I’m in the higher star density part of Tenebrae, just a few hundreads ly away it decreases fast, and that passage should be about 5000-6000 ly large, even with the James Cook would be impossible jumping over 500 ly, so if there are no stars at all in the middle there will be no passage, and looks like silence is the only sound coming from that dark space.
Time to prepare for dinner,
Merry Christmas again!!!

Leave a comment