Skaudai Nebula

Here I am, third waypoint, Skaudai nebula, where a human outpost is hidden on a lonely planet in the Skaudai CH-B d14-34 system, Sacaquawea space port. It’s nice to see how human have made their way inside the galaxy in the last few years, but as long as I like the idea of spending a night here, I also took some time for a nice detour visiting one of the most beatifull systems I have ever seen so far. Skaudai CH-B d14-98 is a huge system with two wonderfull ringed landable planet. The view from the surface of those two beauties is breathtaking, check the pictures at the bottom.
Skaudai CH-B d14-98 1 is a 1.46g grey and blue planet with very thick rings, a stunning view and lots of minerals, I spent some time in high speed exploration with the fighter, and collected some minerals with the SRV after landing.
Skaudai CH-B d14-98 2 is a massive 1.91g red/grey planet. I’m not very confident with the new Icarus modules, and 2g is the limit of this new design, it’s a ship intended for deep space exploration, not for planetary research, it sure can land on a planet and it’s designed for that, but the lack of boost capability and the huge mass of the anaconda class make high gravity landings dangerous, that’s why a fighter bay is present for a safe surface exploration on high gravity planets. The safety limity for the ship is 2g, with a danger zone between 1.5 and 2g, at least according to the specs. But honestly when landing on Skaudai CH-B d14-98 1 I noticed the new thrusters can keep the ship very stable even in high gravity environments, so I made a test using the fighter first, then skipped the idea of a pure fighter exploration for a full surface exploration with landing. With some care everything went fine, and I had one of the best landings ever. I don’t know about you, but I really love running with an SRV on high gravity planets, and I love running on ringed planets with stunning views, I had a great time there.

Leave a comment